Hungry Rabbits - Varmint & Small Game Hunting - Predator Hunting / Calling / Trapping Forums, Blogs, Hunting Logs and Articles. - PredatorTalk.com

Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Photo
- - - - -

Hungry Rabbits

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 glenway

glenway

Michigan Lifer

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6462 posts

Posted 02 March 2019 - 05:33 AM

• I’ve been feeding birds for over 60 years and sometimes other critters get in on the fast food, too.  I learned yesterday, while talking to a falcon handler/owner that some of the birds of prey will only take feathered suckers.  Yep, that’s the kind of hawks I get taking advantage of hapless doves.  These hawks are Cooper’s Hawks.  So, that’s why my red squirrel buffet that I put out for them last week remained untouched.  Right next to the squirrels another dove bit the dust.

• Anyway, my early morning routine involves getting feed out before the birds show up.  But, yesterday I did my morning alert – a chickadee call that I whistle – and here comes a cottontail rabbit running under the pine boughs toward me from afar.  It ended up mere feet from my feet and it began crunching breakfast right then and there.

•  

• So, today I called out again and sure enough, one rabbit came to me.  I then went inside to watch from the garage window and seven more joined the party.  I went out to take a picture and all but one stayed close, although I could see many more about me.  The second pic - although a bit dark with light snow falling – shows faintly some of the other rascals, as I knelt in the feed.

•  

• Yeah, it’s rabbit season, but it sure wouldn’t be hunting.

(Sorry about those dang dots in the margin of the text above, but I couldn't make them go away.)

Attached Files

#2 SWAMPBUCK10PT

SWAMPBUCK10PT

Die Hard Member

• Members
  • 3654 posts

Posted 02 March 2019 - 07:30 AM