Calling and trapping greys. - Fox Hunting - Predator Hunting / Calling / Trapping Forums, Blogs, Hunting Logs and Articles. - PredatorTalk.com

Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Photo
- - - - -

Calling and trapping greys.

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 FoxSlayer

FoxSlayer

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 16 December 2016 - 11:41 AM

Hey everyone. I live in Minnesota and love the outdoors. Don't know how many people are active on this app but I'd like to ask a few questions.
•I live near a river and creek and own about 60-60 acres. I know where the grey fox are living,(not on my land) but i was wondering when and where should I set up on this ridge overlooking a woods where they live? Midnight? 4Am? 6Pm?
•Trapping: I have been trapping since I was 11, (5 years now) and have caught em one red fox. I have gotten many coin and mink. But any tips on red and Grey would help.
•Also, I just got permission to hunt yotes on a piece of land that I know is full of em. I've seen lots of sign(driving by) and know their in there. Would you recommend vole squeaks or rabbit distress when I first hunt her.
Thanks everyone
Red fox:1/3
Grey: 0/5
Mink: 2/2
Muskrat: 3/3
Coon: 5-10/.

#2 youngdon

youngdon

Prolific Member.....

• PredatorTalk Pro-staff
  • 23152 posts

Posted 16 December 2016 - 03:02 PM

Welcome to PredatorTalk FoxSlayer. I'd open up with vole squeaks to see if any are close by. They can hear it at a longer distance than most think. Call off and on for a bit and if that doesn't work go to distress. As for when ? anytime you can go legally. I've always found fox to be active early in the AM, but that's also when I go. Where would be dictated by the wind and your visibility so You'll have to pick a spot with a backdrop to hide your form. sit for a minute and then start calling. Be ready, sit still, shoot straight, take pics  ! !

Good luck

Tree Branch Calls