Predator Hunting Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to hunting coyotes have been reading up on it quite a bit and have killed a few. But ive read a few articles that say where theres crows theres coyotes just wondering the importance and how the two correspond with each other?

·
652 Posts
i think what they are referring to is the fact that crows are typically hanging around carcasses and other food sources that coyotes also enjoy. coyotes will run in and check out the reason the crows are makin noise to see if they can score a free meal

·
11 Posts
We try to pay attention to all wildlife, not just crows. Most of the time, they will know the predator is on their way before you do.
We have been tipped off to incoming predators by crows, blue jays, squirrels, deer, cows and even rabbits.

I can recall one instance where a blue jay was going crazy and we could see him in the tree line but no predator???? After looking through the scope, the culprit was a bobcat in "sneak" mode. Thanks to the blue jay, the bobcat didn't make it!

Pay close attention to your surroundings because sometimes they can be your best set of eyes.

Best of luck and Happy Hunting!

Feel the Rush,

Richie
TBR Outdoors

·
10 Posts
Was out crow hunting last year and had a coyote come in to a crow distress call. Always have my 223 when crow hunting for that tattletale crow
that sits out of shotgun range. Also was just about ready to give up on a stand when some geese in the corn started going nuts. Stayed a couple
minutes and sure enough a yote pops out of the weeds, so like Richie said, watch and listen for more than just the predators your after.

·
Banned
68 Posts
This is a simple matter of "animals being smarter than humans". All good hunters, regardless of the game they are after watch the other animals.