Predator Hunting Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a customer who is bringing by 3 or 4 skunks this afternoon. From what he's told me, these do have some odor to them because they sprayed when he caught them.
I have worked with skunks before, and deodorized them with a mixture of water, baking soda and ferret deodorizing shampoo. It works well for mild-to-moderately stinky skunks, but if these smell really bad when I get them, is there a more effective way to deodorize the skins?

Also, is there a way I can reccomend he dispatches them next time, so they don't spray? Apparently he shot them, and from what I've been told, that's a no-no because they spray when you shoot them. But, I have no experience with skunk trapping so I would like to get some more information on this!

Thanks!

·
79 Posts
Skunk off really does work. I have a coonhound that can't leave skunks alone. PA Hillbilly is right, seems like every headshot on a skunk they spray, heart/lung shot works - sometimes. I don't know a sure fire way. My brother is a veterinarian - they mix up a solution with hydrogen peroxide, baking soda, and dawn dish soap. He says this is better than skunk off.

·
34 Posts
3 cc of murectic acid, through ribs in lung cavity,, takes about 2 min. the acid truns to gas and puts em to a final sleep,, iv done sevral, ant had one to spray yet,,,,

·
34 Posts
GritGuy said:
You can also use acetone to inject with about 10 to 15 cc's will put them down and it's a tad safer to use than the acid, most skunks put down this way just lay down and thats it.
your right,, that acid is hard on the neddles,,,, does it take that much acetone?

·
Super Moderator
3,707 Posts