Predator Hunting Forum banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I am new to the site, and I love it! So I am fairly new to the predator hunting thing, i have been trying to shoot some for two years now and only had the chance to shoot at them, they don't like to commit. i listened to the talk show on the web site, full of info! But this is my question:
What is your favorite caliber for hunting these animals. And why?
1) .17 HMR
2) .223
3) 30-06
4) Shotgun
5) Other

·
18 Posts
I use: 22 mag, 223 Rem, 223 WSSM, 280 Rem, and a 12 gauge. I would also like 2 get a Ruger 204, a 220 Swift, and a 243 Win.

·
27 Posts
I use a .223, .22-250, .243, 7.62X39 and 12 gauge in different situations and for experience. I recommend that you look seriously at a .223 for your first rifle. Range is generally good and the round is very sound at typical call-in ranges (50 - 120 yards). You don't lose the predator in your scope recoil, the round is heavy enough to be lethal in nearly all situations, the round is reasonably priced and accurate in nearly any configuration of rifle. Even the hollow point 55-grain Wolf brand of ammo is accurate and deadly enough for nearly all coyote calling situations. I've had good luck with all of these rounds. The .243 is hard on fur but will reach out on windy days. I use 58-grain V-max loads with excellent luck. The 7.62X39 is a vastly underrated round. I have a bolt action Russian BARS 4-1 that is a tack driver. Both of these rounds will also take deer with ease. A 12 gauge shotgun is excellent for close cover and night calling and can be very effective out to 40 yards with most loads but only a few with very specialized chokes will reach farther with consistency. A .223 is an excellent compromise round with good characteristics.

·
13 Posts
for predator calling I use either my 223 AR or my 204 encore and my 12 gauge. I have used other calibers but these work so I stick to them.

·
Registered
8 Posts