Predator Hunting Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was hunting Sunday morning, and had something new happen. I set up and started calling with a cottontail distress call. After about 1minute coyotes started howling from the timber about 600 yds away. I have never had this reaction to calling before. Are these educated coyotes that have been called to and missed before? I switched to a different distress call and then tried a pup distress call (I am not good with this call). I never did see the coyotes. Has anyone else had a similar experience?

·
652 Posts
Dude this has happened to me and it is not good news. I am no professional but in my experience when they howl at your distress call like that, they have probably heard it before. I would try a challenge howl. It is like this-you have a couple howling at you and chances are that one is a male, possibly the dominant or alpha male, so start challenging him. My reasoning for this is that they obviously aren't coming to anything else so who really gives a crap if you scare them off. I personally think you will find a male to come in to the challenge as this is a very territorial time of year for coyotes. I have one more suggestion for you. Get one of your buddies and set them out a few hundred yards in front of you, or within a couple hundred yards of where you think the howling is coming from, make sure you don't make a peep until your buddy is set, they obviously feel safe at the distance they are from your calling, so maybe your buddy will have a chance to shoot unsuspecting dogs. Give it a shot. hope it works

·
Banned
33 Posts