Predator Hunting Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,439 Posts
I've been shooting the 40 grain VMAX from Hornady for no reason honestly. I'm fairly new to it all and just wanted the expanding round for quick knockdown. I've heard other guys talking about using something a little heavier so I picked up some 55's tonight from Cabelas and plan to hand load those.

How about you?

·
18 Posts
I have a Ruger chambered in a 223 rem and a Winchester chambered in a 223 WSSM. The 223 rem shoots, just about everything I run through it, very well. I use 40 and 50 grain bullets, made by Nosler and Hornady.
The 40 grain Ballistic tips are Nosler, and they are for varmints. They fragment quickly after they enter. The 40 grain Hornady are V max and they preform just like the 40 grain Noslers.
The 50 grain bullets are Nosler CT (Combined Technology). I think the CT have better bullet retention, and will gladly shoot deer with them.
I will b using 62 grain Berger Bullets on the next hand loads for my 223 WSSM . (It's very touchy though.) Berger's are premium bullets!!!! Once i use up all my Nosler and Hornady I will switch over to just Berger.
Hope this helps some. Kris Mankey

·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys for your input to this tread. I have only used rem 55gr. mc fmj so far in my rem 700 sps varmint rifle. Do not like the way they group. Going to make some reloads to see if i can tighten them up. What i was looking for is a bullet that will take out a yote with one good placed shot. One shot one kill.

·
18 Posts
just the other day i shot 30 rounds of Nosler 40 grains, off a bench, and at 100 yds. 3 bullets made a solid cut line, and the 4th one was a 1/4 inch to the right. i was happy with that grouping
kris mankey

·
69 Posts
diverken159 said: