Predator Hunting Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I must admit, I am new to hunting but have owned guns for some time, and try to shoot them as much as possible. I am a big fan of the AR platform, and think the black rifle is one of the best home protection guns one can own.

When I started getting more interested in hunting, I immediately looked to the AR's. I purchased both the R-15 and R-25 from remington. .223, and .308 respectively. The 308 would be my deer gun, and the 223 my predator gun.

At about the same time, a friend introduced me to the Thompson Center Encores. I held one of those baby's, and I immediately KNEW I no longer wanted the R-25 for deer hunting. Way too heavy, way too clunky, and didn't seem like a true "sport" like hunting with the single shot, TC. So out went the R-25, and in came a TC encore pro-hunter, in 30-06. I am absolutely IN LOVE with this gun! We did a trigger mod to it, and it is absolutely amazing.

Now deer season is over and I am really looking to get turned onto predators. I like many things about my R-15 (thanks Byron South for the hard sell ) but there are many things I cant stand. Weight, how beefy it is, the huge riser I have to use to mount a scope, the trigger, etc. It just doesn't seem like the ideal predator gun to me. So now.... I am looking at replacing it with the TC Icon precision hunter.

Am I crazy, or what? I am young, and was never exposed to bolt action rifles. I really had zero influence whatsoever, this is all homemade. In the end though, I am leaning towards the bolt action rifles for accuracy, more sport, less weight, better trigger, and just a better overall "feel". Plus, I don't want to feel like I can "spray and pray" out there. I want to think more about the ONE (or 3) shots that I have.

Would love to hear your thoughts on this. I feel bad getting rid of the R-15 because I do like this gun but that Icon is looking better every day.

Go ahead.... let me have it!

·