• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Kennyd

Kennyd

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 25 January 2010 - 04:52 PM

I'm new to bobcat hunting. Anyone have any tips on hunting them? I'm in the Albany, NY area.

#2 Tommy

Tommy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts

Posted 26 January 2010 - 07:12 PM

Ugh..cats. Haha, I love calling bobcats. This is a run through of each and every one of my cat stands. Step one...camo, camo, camo. If it shines, it wont work for cats. I usually wear glasses, but when we go cat hunting, I put in contacts. Wear the best camo you can afford (you don't need scent lok). Cover your hands, face, gun, and sit in the shadows. Step 2, take some time to memorize everything, and I mean everything. Cats are sneaky critters, and they are very good at being sneaky. A bump on a log that wasn't there, is your cat. We try to key on places where a cat has to hit some sort of edge cover to come to my call.

Calling. I like Tweety, my Quaker Boy Super Screamer, or anything shrill. It seems also that cats are a sucker for the woodpecker distress. In my opintion bobcats have the attention span of a 3 year old, so keep calling at them. It will be a trial an error method at first. Keep in mind that you probably call in a cat every 5th stand, in an area with lots of cats. They are just so dang hard to see.

Okay, you have a cat coming to the call, you see him and he is hung up. When his head starts going back and forth, you better shoot. He is thinking about bugging out on ya. This is where you put the crosshairs betwix his running lights and tip him over.

Sounds simple right?

Good luck!!!! Keep me posted on your success!

Tommy

#3 El Gato Loco

El Gato Loco

Major Contributor

• PredatorTalk Pro-staff
  • 3465 posts

Posted 21 February 2010 - 02:59 PM

Tommy,

Great synopsis on bobcat hunting. Just found it and it has a lot of great tips. Thanks for sharing!

#4 wilded

wilded

Die Hard Member

• PredatorTalk Pro-staff